HOG HOTLINE (386) 257-0324

Red Zeppelin’s Rock Report: August 3-5/ZZ Top, Jet, Alice Cooper coming out with limited vinyl releases.

ZZ Top, Jet, Alice Cooper and Heaven and Hell are among the artists with limited-edition releases due out in October.

The program is part of Rhino’s Rocktober, where the label will put out limited runs of classic albums on colored vinyl each Tuesday of the month. Check out the schedule:

October 4th:


  • Deep Purple‘s Machine Head on clear vinyl limited to 2500 copies.
  • Foreigner‘s 4 on red-colored vinyl limited to 2400 copies.
  • Jet‘s Get Born has its initial release on vinyl.
  • Twisted Sister‘s Stay Hungry on black and pink starburst-colored vinyl limited to 2500 copies.

October 11th:


  • ZZ Top‘s Eliminator on red-colored vinyl.
  • Iron Butterfly‘s Heavy (Stereo Version) on regular vinyl.

October 18th:


  • Alice Cooper‘s Billion Dollar Babies on green, yellow and orange marble-colored vinyl limited to 3000 copies.
  • Small Faces First Step on orange-colored vinyl.
  • The Stooges‘ self-titled album on gold and brown-colored vinyl.

October 25th:


  • Buckcherry‘s 15 10th anniversary vinyl edition.
  • Heaven and Hell‘s The Devil You Know on dark orange and gold-colored vinyl limited to 2000 copies.
  • T. Rex‘s self-titled album remastered on both LP and CD.

pearljamThis fall is shaping up as a trip through time for Pearl Jam fans.

First there’s the September 30th reissue of the Temple of the Dog album, which Stone Gossard, Jeff Ament and Mike McCready recorded with Soundgarden’s Chris Cornell and Matt Cameron as they were putting together Pearl Jam. And that group will do a brief tour in November.

Now the pre-Pearl Jam band that featured Gossard and Ament, Mother Love Bone, will see its catalog reissued.Mother Love Bone: On Earth as It Is will be released on CD, vinyl and digital in the late fall. It combines all their singles, the 1989 EP Shine and their 1990 album Apple, which was released four months after singer Andrew Wooddied of a heroin overdose. (His death inspired Chris Cornell to write the songs for Temple of the Dog.) The CD version will come with a DVD of the long out-of-print home video Love Bone Earth Affair.


Red Hot Chili Peppers, Ed Sheeran, The Black Keys and Courtney Barnett are among the acts releasing pink vinyl albums for charity.

Ten Bands One Cause raises funds for Gilda’s Club NYC, which supports cancer patients and their families. The previous two years of this campaign raised $65,000.

The pink vinyl for these albums will be out on September 27th — Anthrax‘s For All Kings; The Black KeysChulahoma; Courtney Barnett‘s Sometimes I Sit and Think, and Sometimes I Just Sit; Ed Sheeran‘s X (Multiply);Jim Breuer and The Loud & Rowdy‘s Songs From the Garage; My Chemical Romance‘s Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge and Red Hot Chili PeppersThe Getaway.

In addition, new albums from Opeth and Pixies will be out September 30th, with the new NOFX album on October 7th.

tom petty

Tom Petty and The Heartreakers, former Rolling Stones bassist Bill Wyman, Emerson, Lake & Palmer and R.E.M. are among the artists with new archival product out now.

Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers’ Greatest Hits, which first came out in 1993, is being released on vinyl.


A Sting box set will be released before his new album comes out.

The Studio Collection will be out on September 30th, and it has newly remastered versions of all his solo rock albums on vinyl. (The box doesn’t include the classical-leaning Songs From the Labyrinth, If on a Winter’s Night… and Symphonicities.) 1999’s Brand New Day and 2003’s Sacred Love are both double records, and have never been on vinyl before.

Sting’s latest solo album, 57th and 9th, will be out November 11th


The details of David Bowie‘s new box set, the 12-CD / 13-disc-vinylWho Can I Be Now? (1974–1976), have been revealed.

In addition to Gouster, a previously unreleased album from the mid-’70s, it will contain the albums Diamond Dogs, Young Americans, two mixes of David Live, two mixes of Station to Station, Live Nassau Coliseum ’76, a collection of singles and non-album B-sides and a hardcover book. It will be out on September 23rd at a hefty price that has not yet been revealed.

In other Bowie news, his musical, Lazarus, will play at the Kings Cross Theater in London from October 25th through January 22nd.

A 25-minute audio file of Bowie rehearsing for his 1995 Outside tour is streaming onSoundcloud. It includes run-throughs of “Breaking Glass,” “DJ” and other songs.